If you are constantly viewing someone’s profile on LinkedIn, you have to be careful now! LinkedIn can literally be called the new police in the world of social media! They are doing everything to stop users from spamming to stalking you. The latest being ‘the member blocking feature’.
What does this do?
Users can now block specific member profiles on the site; this ideally means that you can block anyone who simply annoys you. LinkedIn allows you to block up to 50 profiles.
What happens when you block a user?
- Both users won’t be able to access each other’s profile and messages over LinkedIn cannot be exchanged
- Endorsements and recommendations received from the blocked member will disappear
- The ‘Who’s Viewed Your Profile’ feature will no longer show the blocked member and LinkedIn will stop suggesting the blocked user in the ‘People You May Know’ and ‘People also viewed’ sections
Here’s how you can block a member on LinkedIn:
The new blocking feature is available on the drop-down box on a user’s profile, next to the “Send InMail” button. It’s now the last item on the list, which reads “Block or report.”
LinkedIn suggests that before you block a member, you turn on “anonymous profile viewing” in your settings, so that – should you change your mind, close your browser, have a technical issue, etc. – you won’t leave your name in the “Who’s Viewed Your Profile” section of the would-be-blocked user’s account.
How does this affect marketers?
LinkedIn has tightened its string and such a feature will surely affect us in a large way. We were still coming to terms with LinkedIn ‘SWAM’ and now there’s member block. I’ll have to think twice before sending a connection request or an inmail to someone now! Now all those ‘maximize your social media marketing’, ‘make your brand presence felt in the social world‘ “Boost your SEO!” and “buy my stuff!” emails are certainly going to be sent with more thought. The member block is a relief for those who wanted to get away from the spam mails that popped up every time they opened their inbox or dozens of connection requests. This feature will help them get rid of people they don’t want to interact with. It takes just one click to block someone!
I was just getting used to the fact that the discussions I post in various groups shouldn’t have a link or look promotional, and LinkedIn surprised me yet again. It will be interesting to see what other features LinkedIn would roll out in the next few months.
What are your views on the LinkedIn member block feature? In what ways would this affect you?